Sponsorships
Who pays to put a name on a stadium, a shirt or the league, and what the deal is reported to be worth. Clubs almost never announce these figures; they come from the business press, usually citing unnamed sources, and are estimates. 47 deals are on record, 34 with a figure. Where a range was reported, the low end is shown and the range is in the note.
Click or tap a mark to see what it is.
Stadium naming rights
| club | sponsor | named | seasons | a year | in all | note | sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin FC | Q2 | Q2 Stadium | 2021– | — | — | terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Chicago Fire | McDonald's | McDonald's Park | 2026–2040 | — | — | fourteen years from the stadium's opening, with two bridge years before it, terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Colorado Rapids | Dick's Sporting Goods | Dick's Sporting Goods Park | 2007– | $2,000,000 | — | about $2M a year | 1 |
| Columbus Crew | Lower.com | Lower.com Field | 2021–2025 | $3,000,000 | $15,000,000 | $3M to $4M a year, not renewed, the stadium becomes ScottsMiracle-Gro Field in 2026 | 1 2 |
| D.C. United | Audi | Audi Field | 2018– | $4,000,000 | — | more than ten years, about $4M a year per Sports Business Journal | 1 |
| Houston Dynamo | BBVA Compass | BBVA Compass Stadium | 2012–2021 | $2,000,000 | $20,000,000 | ten years, renamed BBVA Stadium in 2019 and PNC Stadium in 2021 as the bank changed hands | 1 |
| Houston Dynamo | Shell Energy | Shell Energy Stadium | 2023–2030 | $5,000,000 | $40,000,000 | eight years | 1 |
| Inter Miami | JPMorgan Chase | Chase Stadium | 2024–2025 | — | — | two years, terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Inter Miami | Nu | Nu Stadium | 2026– | $18,000,000 | — | an estimated $18M to $20M a year | 1 |
| LA Galaxy | Home Depot | Home Depot Center | 2003–2012 | $7,000,000 | $70,000,000 | ten years | 1 |
| LA Galaxy | StubHub | StubHub Center | 2013–2018 | — | — | six years, terms not disclosed | 1 |
| LA Galaxy | Dignity Health | Dignity Health Sports Park | 2019–2028 | $6,000,000 | $60,000,000 | upward of $6M a year per Sports Business Journal | 1 |
| Los Angeles FC | Banc of California | Banc of California Stadium | 2018–2020 | $6,666,667 | $100,000,000 | a fifteen-year deal ended twelve years early, Banc of California paid $20.1M to end it | 1 2 |
| Los Angeles FC | BMO | BMO Stadium | 2023–2032 | $10,000,000 | $100,000,000 | ten years, an MLS record at signing | 1 |
| New York City FC | Etihad Airways | Etihad Park | 2027–2046 | — | — | twenty years, terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Philadelphia Union | Subaru | Subaru Park | 2020– | — | — | terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Real Salt Lake | Rio Tinto | Rio Tinto Stadium | 2008–2022 | $2,000,000 | $30,000,000 | roughly $2M a year | 1 |
| Real Salt Lake | America First Credit Union | America First Field | 2022–2036 | $6,666,667 | $100,000,000 | fifteen years, nearly $100M | 1 |
| San Jose Earthquakes | PayPal | PayPal Park | 2021–2030 | $2,000,000 | $20,000,000 | ten years, more than $20M | 1 |
| Toronto FC | BMO | BMO Field | 2007–2016 | C$2,700,000 | C$27,000,000 | ten years, about US$24.3M | 1 |
| Toronto FC | BMO | BMO Field | 2017–2026 | $4,000,000 | $40,000,000 | ten-year renewal | 1 |
Shirt sponsors
| club | sponsor | named | seasons | a year | in all | note | sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlanta United | American Family Insurance | shirt | 2017– | — | — | terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Charlotte FC | Ally | shirt | 2022– | $7,000,000 | — | 1 | |
| Chicago Fire | Carvana | shirt | 2024– | — | — | terms not disclosed, the largest sponsorship in club history | 1 |
| D.C. United | Volkswagen | shirt | 2008– | $3,000,000 | — | nearly $3M a season | 1 |
| D.C. United | Guidehouse | shirt | 2024–2028 | $7,500,000 | $37,500,000 | five years | 1 |
| FC Dallas | MTX Group | shirt | 2021–2022 | $9,285,714 | $65,000,000 | the renegotiated deal's payout, reported as likely topping out at $65M, ended five years early | 1 2 |
| Inter Miami | XBTO | shirt | 2021–2023 | $4,000,000 | $12,000,000 | $4M to $5M a year, ended early | 1 |
| Inter Miami | Royal Caribbean | shirt | 2024– | $10,000,000 | — | more than $10M a year per Sports Business Journal, relayed by Joe Pompliano | 1 |
| LA Galaxy | Herbalife | shirt | 2007–2012 | — | — | five years, terms not disclosed | 1 |
| LA Galaxy | Herbalife | shirt | 2013–2022 | $4,400,000 | $44,000,000 | ten-year extension, then the largest club sponsorship in MLS | 1 2 |
| Los Angeles FC | Flex | shirt | 2020–2023 | $5,000,000 | $20,000,000 | estimated | 1 |
| Los Angeles FC | BMO | shirt | 2024– | — | — | terms not disclosed, likely at least twice Flex's | 1 |
| Minnesota United FC | Target | shirt | 2017– | — | — | terms not disclosed | 1 |
| New York City FC | Etihad Airways | shirt | 2015– | $9,000,000 | — | the largest MLS shirt deal in 2022 | 1 |
| Philadelphia Union | Bimbo | shirt | 2011–2014 | $3,000,000 | $12,000,000 | four years | 1 |
| Philadelphia Union | Bimbo | shirt | 2015–2019 | $2,200,000 | $11,000,000 | five years | 1 |
| Portland Timbers | Alaska Airlines | shirt | 2011–2023 | — | — | terms not disclosed | 1 |
| Real Salt Lake | LifeVantage | shirt | 2014– | — | $30,000,000 | 1 | |
| Real Salt Lake | Select Health | shirt | 2024–2031 | $9,000,000 | $75,000,000 | eight years with escalators, $9M to $10M a year, shared with the Utah Royals | 1 |
| Seattle Sounders | Xbox | shirt | 2009–2018 | $4,000,000 | $40,000,000 | about $4M a season at first, just under $5M by the last | 1 |
| Seattle Sounders | Zulily | shirt | 2019– | — | — | said to pay more a year than Xbox's last season | 1 |
| Sporting Kansas City | Ivy Funds | shirt | 2013–2017 | $2,500,000 | $12,500,000 | five years, reports range from $2.1M to $2.5M a year | 1 |
| Toronto FC | BMO | shirt | 2007– | C$1,000,000 | — | $1M to $1.5M a season | 1 |
League sponsors
| club | sponsor | named | seasons | a year | in all | note | sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Major League Soccer | Adidas | official athletic sponsor and kit supplier | 2005–2014 | $15,000,000 | $150,000,000 | ten years | 1 |
| Major League Soccer | Adidas | official athletic sponsor and kit supplier | 2011–2018 | $25,000,000 | $200,000,000 | a 2010 renewal raising the annual payment from $15M to $25M | 1 |
| Major League Soccer | Adidas | official athletic sponsor and kit supplier | 2023–2028 | $138,333,333 | $830,000,000 | six years | 1 |
A year and in all are as reported. Where only one was reported and the deal's length is known, the other is worked out from it and shown in grey italics; hover it for the sum. A reported range is shown at its low end, so a figure worked out from one is a floor. Seasons are the first and last the deal covers. Sources are numbered links to the reports.